lindseygail10

A fine WordPress.com site

Rough Drafts and Tighty-Whiteys

on October 7, 2013

So even though I missed the popular “Sharing Sunday,” I still want to share my rough draft of a piece I am working on for my English Methods class. Hopefully, I will someday be sharing a few laughs with my future students over this story.

tighty-whitey

 


“Trying to be Cool”

As a high school student you want to fit in. You try to wear the right clothes, style your hair in just the right way, hang out with the right crowd, and conform to a whole other slew of fads. There are those for whom this essence of being cool comes quite naturally, and then there are the rest of us. The majority of us whose journey to the elusive quality of “coolness” is bound to filled with mishaps along the way.

Like my classmate Brandon. In many aspects he was Mr. Cool at my high school. Star football and basketball player. He was tall, tan, and had dreamy blue eyes to boot. You would think he would be the one to start the trends rather than follow them. But this is the story of how Brandon went from Mr. Cool to Mr. Fool in just one class period.

For me P.E. was the dread of my freshman year. I was a skinny little twerp with knobby knees and no hope of ever achieving even a semblance of athletic ability. I could barely dribble a basketball down the court. But for the rest of my class it was their time to shine. They were all in sports and the teacher (who was also their coach) loved them. P.E. was the place for them to show off and be cool.  And after class it was time to change into those big brand-name t-shirts, drench yourself in body spray, then head out to impress the rest of the student body during lunch.

Now, you’re probably wondering when I’m going to get back to Brandon. Well, never fear, he enters our story once again. The current trend of the year for all of the guys was to shimmy their jeans halfway down their rear ends in order to show off the various shades and designs of their boxers. If everyone didn’t know whether you were wearing plaid or superman themed underwear that day, then you were obviously out of the loop. So, like most guys, Brandon wanted to be a part of the craze.

So let’s set the scene here. Being a girl I can only imagine the sequence of events at this point, but this would be my best guess. In the dark underworld of the boys’ locker room, where the toxic fumes of Axe fill the air, Brandon changed into his Buckle jeans and Hurley t-shirt. He carefully scooted down those jeans, just enough to show off his undergarments, but not enough to become a hassle when he walked. A few quick shakes of his golden locks and he was ready to emerge.

And oh boy did he cause a few heads to turn…. Brandon sauntered into the lunchroom proudly displaying a crisp, clean pair of tighty-whiteys. I learned that day that Brandon was a Hanes man. Just like Michael Jordan on the TV commercials, proudly taking comfort to the next level. All eyes were on this young man as he loaded his tray with the day’s nutritious and oh so delicious school lunch.

Needless to say that day was often brought up in the coming weeks’ banter. The day that Brandon, star football and basketball player, fell from his high perch as Mr. Cool to the lowly position of Mr. Fool. The moral of this story is, there are many bumps along the path to coolness, but now you know that flaunting your tighty-whiteys is not the way to go.

the-end

5 responses to “Rough Drafts and Tighty-Whiteys

  1. I absolutely love this piece Lindsey! I could see a piece like this being very versatile in the classroom. Last year in seventh grade my brother wrote a fictional piece that really reminds me of this same concept. I’ll have to share it with you soon!

  2. lechatdu503 says:

    Join the “Sharing Sunday” group! We’d love to read more of your funny stories. Stay cool.

  3. […] and I know I can learn something from every piece. Lindsey whetted our appetites when she shared this hilarious piece and I can’t wait to hear/see […]

  4. nikkijh24 says:

    Love it! And the pics!

  5. […] few weeks ago Lindsey shared a piece she developed from her writer’s notebook, “Trying to be Cool.” It was an awesome piece that she even read at open mic […]

Leave a Reply

